oyasumi.dreams


DBSK Tribute/Anniversary Post

Posted in Uncategorized by nanshi on February 14, 2008

Yes, I’m not an idiot, I know they debuted on December 26th, BUT I posted this on AF and I was very proud of it, so now I’m going to throw it over here to share it with the [larger] WordPress reading populace.

(( Now that I think about it, the boys generally have pretty busy Christmases huh, don’t they? ))

Hug debut. They look so young and so cute! And so nervous!!! Especially Jaejoong! haha. They look so young! It looks like they’ve aged and matured so much in these past four years (even though it’s only been four years!). If you watch closely, you’ll notice that Junsu has such an elated!scared! expression on his face. Poor BB. He waited such a long time for debut (3 years of training and then just 3 years of waiting to recover from his voice change =( poor dolphie)… but you did it dolphie! It’s so different watching this old performance of “Hug” without the usually accompanying screams from fangirls. hehe. WOW. O_O
Just for fun: DBSK’s first #1 Win for “Hug”. I love them…

MV For “Always There”. Simple. Sweet. And all five boys looking gorgeously young, sweet, but oh-so-hot in their adorable black suits and tuxes. This is probably one of my favorite songs by them but this video definitely makes me swoon. It’s just so simple and easily done… but still so… gorgeous.

“Whatever They Say” live on Music Wave. Ahh… old [s>bad[/s> hair. One of my favorite acappellas from them. Especially when Jaejoong hits that falsetto! This is just sooo cute. Hmm reminds me: [s>I have to find that really funny/cute clip of DBSK on YDH’s Love Letter where Yoosu trade voices and make fun of each other. [/s> hehe. Found it. DBSK on Yoon DoHyun’s “Loveletter” interview. About halfway through (around 3:45 or so) YDH comments that he thinks Micky should have a very high voice (the video is subbed, so go watch it!) because he is very feminine-looking but Micky has a very low voice. Micky comments and y’know… then the interview passes onto Junsu and we all know what Junsu’s voice sounds like. haha. So YDH’s like, “You two should switch voices!” and everyone’s laughing and Micky’s all like, “Well, why don’t we try that? We’ll switch voices and try to hold a conversation that way.” So Micky throws his voice up REALLY high (it doesn’t really sound anything like Junsu’s, it’s just really high and kinda squeaky) and all, “Junsu-yah,” and you can visibly see Junsu lowering his vocal chords as he warms up, and then he’s all, “Yeh?” in this really low-deep voice (that surprisingly sounds a lot like Yoochun’s), but it’s really cute cause his voice kinda cracks a bit because he can’t really hold it that low. LOLs. And the entire audience bursts out laughing and Micky’s all, “… I’m sorry.”

Prepping for their first series of concerts! “Rising Sun” concert series. They worked so hard to get there, and they did it! First concert is up!!! Watch them play on motorcycles. hehe. It’s adorable! Man, I love them. Bonus: DBSK being dorky and speaking English haha it’s really funny when one of the staff decides to tease Junsu too [s>cause he’s just too much fun to tease[/s> and asks him how to spell “WIDE” (cause they’re on Mnet WIDE show) and he spells it all proud and the rest of the members are all, “WAAAHHH Junsu you’re so smart…~” and Junsu gets up really indignantly and he says something like, “Hey! I’m in college y’know?!?! COLLEGE STUDENT!” haha so cute ❤

BoA, Super Junior, CSJH, and DBSK music show. I really like this specific performance of DBSK’s “Rising Sun” because the cameraperson films it PERFECTLY so that you can see the “group wave” that DBSK does at the beginning of their performance (at around 5:00). Poor Jaejoong is still all injured though, so the masked man subs in for him… =( Again, chronologging all of DBSK’s successes and failures have gotten them to where they are today!

DBSK House Tour Pt.1 (Pt. 2, Pt. 3, Pt. 4). This is soo cute! I think it was after the release of their 2nd album and you can tell that they’re being adorable and unpretentious, but they’re still not the open-and-crazy DongBangs that we love today cause they still refer to each other by their stage names (YoongWoong, Uknow, Xiah, Micky, and Choikang/Max). They’re still a bit tentative about their fame, but more than willing to show us their old apartment (I’m positive they live somewhere else now) and we get to see a beautiful and raw rendition of “Fox Rain” and Jaejoong’s unreleased song (even though fandoms across the Earth want it released as soon as possible) “Bisco Couple.” Bonus Jaejoong on the piano. Almost nine full minutes (yes, 9) of Jaejoong playing the piano. This was for a short film that they were going to play at the beginning of Jaejoong’s solo for the “Rising Sun” concert.

I don’t know when DBSK began opening up and finally shedding the majority of their restrained stage personalities. I think it started after “Rising Sun” was released. Speaking of which, you get to see some of the best DBSK crack here:
Mnet Star Watch 24 Pt. 1 (eng subs!). Pt. 2, Pt. 3, Pt. 4. Yes, these are the famous ‘helium’ episodes where Jaejoong and Junsu go kinda stir crazy and Junsu [s>breaks[/s> can’t figure out the Polaroid camera, Jaejoong goes INSANE and runs from room to room, Yunho tries to be serious and ends up succumbing to the helium-craziness at the end, Yoosu share an amusing dialogue about carrot juice (haha. it’s adorable!)… SO MUCH LOVE! LOLtastic, as I like to say!

Jaeho on the monkey bars for Xman hehe. Self-explanatory. Fandoms and fangirls across the globe exploded the day this was aired in Korea and then exploded again when it was uploaded to youtube and then passed around the internet via various livejournals, blogs, forums, threads, fansites, fanlistings, web services, etc… and then subbed. haha. Classic DBSK except for Jaejoong’s bizarre imitating of some kind of bird[/s>. They’re Xman eps 151 and 152 if that helps.

2006 Daesang win!. The biggest award that an artist can get in the Korean industry and DBSK gets it! FINALLY. SO proud and so happy for them! I love the tender and touching moments and watching Yunho try to keep it all together. <333

“Love in the Ice” live (fancam though =( ). This is by far probably my MOST FAVORITEST THSK song. I really like some of their older songs, but whenever I hear this song, I kinda just want to melt into a puddle. It’s really sweet and the lyrics and really meaningful and touching.. and when Junsu sings… gaahhhhhasdk;;kalsdfsa RAWR~ [s>hnn… there might be a better version of it out there now that the concert DVD is finally released (like a friggin year later).[/s> Nope. Just checked. This was at the “Seoul Encore” concert so there probably won’t be an official DVD releasing for it anytime soon cause I think the concert was added at the last minute and DBSK flew back to Korea from Japan specifically just for like the two concerts. Anyways, this is a really good fancam because even though it’s Junsu-centric, there person taking it still pans to the screen behind Junsu so you still get to see all the members.

40-year old “DBSK” vs. the REAL DBSK. I like this clip a lot because (I read translation for it) and one of the men in the older group says that they were a dancing troupe when they were 25, and they agreed that 15 years later (when they were 40), they would get back together again and dance together again. I like this so much cause I hope one day DBSK will be 40 years old and still be good friends and brothers and still get together to dance and wow the world once again over like the “40 year old DBSK” did this time… *sniff*

Other adorable notables:
Heroine 6
DBSK’s Banjun dramas (which I think are more ridiculous and funny than their Vacation dramas)
MTV’s School Attack and Mnet’s School of Rock (both are soo funny and amusing especially when they get their hands on dolls. Only DBSK can play with dolls and still be irresistibly cute and manly).
Ya Shim Man Man with Yunho, Changmin, and Micky. *sniffles*
SM Town’s collab “behind the scenes” videos. DongBangJunior is just pure love <333 I love it when those two fandoms collide (speaking of which… “Explorers of the Human Body” with Suju and DBSK should be airing in about two weeks!!! SO ESSCITED!!!!)
Brian Joo making fun of Junsu just for Junsu’s panicked little face. hehe.
*and have you ever noticed that whenever Changmin laughs he ALWAYS claps his hands together? I’ve never noticed it before, but I recently started seeing it a lot and it’s TRUE!
DBSK’s surprise phone call to Super Junior (on a radio show)
Mini DBSK on Star King AWWWWWWWWWWWW! Inhwan’s fanclub is probably through the roof by now!
DBSK on Jihwaza SOO funny (you can run a search for it on youtube, I only linked Pt.1). Especially when they do “human tetris.”
THSK working hard at their VOCAL TRAINING in Japan for preparation for their Japanese debut. Wow~ I think they’re working with one of the top vocal coaches in Japan. So impressed and so proud at their professionalism.

This is getting to be ridiculously long… so I’ll end it here. I have SO many DBSK vids favorited on youtube and they’re constantly coming out with newer things and I haven’t even broached “Bonjour Paris” or “AADBSK 2” (haha! Couple talks!) so I think I’ll just stop here before I get ahead of myself. I just wanted to track a little bit of how far DBSK has come since their debut up to their success now. So I’ll just end it with this.

Proud of your Love (from the Five in the Black concert. This is their very last song in the entire tour and it’s the one where all of DBSK gets really choked up). They’re proud of our love? I’m proud of their love and everything they do for us fans. Keep on bringing the LOLs and the fun and the cracktastic joy that you give to us all, DBSK. Keep doing what you love to do and what you’re best at. Always keep singing and bring us an eternity of love and fun and sincerity and beautiful music that is DBSK.

I’m proud of your love. Never stop being DBSK. They gave us four years already, I hope they give us a lifetime more…

<3333333

3 Responses to 'DBSK Tribute/Anniversary Post'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'DBSK Tribute/Anniversary Post'.

  1. playmeagain said,

    Woah. It must be just my computer, but your font is totally BIG.

    Okay, so I basically read through your entire post AND watched most of the youtube videos that you linked to. Omg. I feel like I know DBSK better than I know myself.

    It’s crazy how much they’ve improved. Their stage presence is CLEARLY more defined and they’re CLEARLY more comfortable on stage (rofl at Junsu’s adorable messup during their debut perf.). Plus, their charisma is just THAT MUCH MORE evident.

    I honestly find myself more and more amazed at their abilities to sing perfectly in acapella. I know first-hand how HARD it is to harmonize and to stay harmonized. I still can’t, as a matter of fact, but this group’s been able to do it practically since their debut, which says TONS about their vocal abilities. The fact that their voices are so strong and consistent, even without music, and barely waver while they perform leaves me speechless.

    I couldn’t get through to their “Whatever They Say” live acapella perf on Music Wave via your link (something about a malformed id?), so I youtubed it myself, and I’m not sure if I was watching the right performance, but Jae left me wanting more (in so many ways). He was fantastic, especially WHEN HE HIT THAT FALSETTO NOTE. He can sing higher THAN I CAN. I feel like bowing at his knees, or kissing the ground he walks on. (I’m sorry, did I just go too far?)

    Anyway, the gist of this comment is, I love your post and I evidently love DBSK.

  2. nanshi said,

    Awww. Thanks. This was actually supposed to go up at pinkandsparkly’s blog for V-day, but WordPress was hating me so I was posting it in all random places trying to find out EXACTLY where the code was messed up. Sidenote: turns out one of the quotation marks was the “wrong” quotation mark and that’s why it came up all screwy, bizarre, ne? Anyways, glad you liked the post! It came from AF where I mod and made this HUUUGE post for DBSK’s anniversary (which was last year at 12/26). And yes, “Whatever they Say” is the one where JaeJoong hits this CRAAAZAY falsetto which I love. It’s a bit rare you get to hear him do falsetto, so it is lovely!!!

    And yes, I loooooove Jaejoong. I must do a member analysis of them sometime (since I don’t post news: just lots of fangirly goodies). Hn. But glad you liked it…!!!!!

  3. coffee fiend said,

    They should make Human Tetris into a real video game — NES original


Leave a Reply

