oyasumi.dreams


Unabashedly addicted…

Posted in Uncategorized by nanshi on March 25, 2008
Tags: , , , , ,

I just realized that my “entertainment” [editorial] posts tend to get the most reviews
='(
Does no one care about my life…? T________T
.___.

Just kidding!! V^^V

I post for moi and me only… so no big deal if YOU DON’T COMMENT.
YES YOU. I ALLOW ANONYMOUS COMMENTS AND NOT ONE ” =) ” or “LOL” or “thxx!!”

SHEESH. WHAT AM I? YOUR HIRED MONKEY?!??!!

Just kidding!! I appreciate people who visit my blog, even if it is just for the occasional lyrics that I sometimes put up…
[although some people have been pinging me for some really reeeeeeeally interesting keywords that I wasn’t even aware I blogged… even in the remotest sense]

Okay, sooo… onto the post.


((The clip cuts off the song with about 30sec left, so here’s another youtube vid of the full song ))

This is the dancing scene from the movie Enchanted featuring the song “So Close” by Jon McLaughlin.

And I’m addicted to it. Jon is QUITE a talented singer (sheesh, he sings alto even though he’s a MAN) and it’s just… a really really beautiful song. It has such a lulling melody to it and has twinges to painfulness and even leaves a sense of longing after the beautiful instrumental bridge. In a [Western] world of music filled with hardcore rap, sexy lyrics to fast hip-hop beats, or just screamo-emo-all-sound-the-same-wannabe-emo-bands… this soothing ballad is just really really lovely.

I really really adore this song, and if the lyrics weren’t so melancholy I would choose this song to dance to at my wedding. On that fact, no, it won’t be happening anytime soon (Jaejoong is still attached to SM Entertainment, so we can’t be together just yet)… but I always pick out my wedding songs in advance. Of course, this chances about… 5-8 times over the course of the year, so it varies, ne?

Anyways, this is probably my FAVORITE SCENE in the entire movie (unless Prince Edward is being idiotically dense because those scenes are always adorable! “HAHAH! I have slain the evil steel beast! Peasants you are now all free to go!”) mostly because I LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE Elizabethan dress. And I LOVE the fact that this Kings and Queens Ball is themed that way because Patrick Dempsey looks dashing, the entire ballroom is just beautifully designed and lit (cozy and spacious but not too big and looming; I LOOOOVE the set designers for almost every Disney film), Prince Edward (aka: James Marsden) fits right in and so does Idina Menzel (she plays Nancy in the film and she plays the “evil witch” in the Broadway play Wicked and boy can that woman sing!!!)…. my sister pointed out that everyone is great in “period dress” (so to speak) except for Giselle (Amy Adam’s character) and I thought that was a weird miscalculation too. I think the symbolism has to do with Giselle finally accepting the real world while Robert (Patrick Dempsey) finally accepting Giselle’s picturesque fairy-tale-princess nature (I mean, he was singing AND dancing!!)… and similarly with Prince Edward and Nancy (seeing as how Nancy is also in period dress and Edward is too dense to do anything but).

(( and does anyone ELSE find it weird that the special “King and Queens waltz” was reserved for couples who did NOT arrive together? I mean, that REALLY REALLY threw me off… because usually those “special” songs are reserved for couples that DID arrive together… not separately — as in the case of Robert and Giselle… ))

And Lyrics, FTW

So Close by Jon McLaughlin
You’re in my arms
And all the world is calm
The music playing on for only two
So close together
And when I’m with you
So close to feeling alive

A life goes by
Romantic dreams will stop
So I bid mine goodbye and never knew
So close was waiting, waiting here with you
And now forever I know
All that I wanted to hold you
So close

So close to reaching that famous happy end
Almost believing this was not pretend
And now you’re beside me and look how far we’ve come
So far we are so close

[instrumental bridge]

How could I face the faceless days
If I should lose you now?
We’re so close
To reaching that famous happy end
And almost believing this was not pretend
Let’s go on dreaming for we know we are
So close
So close
And still so far

[taken from: here]

4 Responses to 'Unabashedly addicted…'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Unabashedly addicted…'.

  1. playmeagain said,

    LOL. I’d just like you to know that I read EVERY single one of your posts – be it an entertainment one or one extolling your virtues. XDDD ^^

    That said, thxxxxxxx. LOL. =) thxxxxxxx. LOL. =) thxxxxxxx. LOL. =) thxxxxxxx. LOL. =) thxxxxxxx. LOL. =) thxxxxxxx. LOL. =) thxxxxxxx. LOL. =) thxxxxxxx. LOL. =) thxxxxxxx. LOL. =) thxxxxxxx. LOL. =) thxxxxxxx. LOL. =) thxxxxxxx. LOL. =)

    HOWZZAT?! XDDDDD

    My friend is absolutely in love with enchanted right now. Yeah, she went to California for three weeks and watched Enchanted on the plane ride there AND the plane ride back. -.-‘

    She’s been singing the songs non-stop since last (bloody) week.

    AND, she’s been bugging me to go watch it. Also non-stop. I think I may have to go watch it now, in order to, at the very least, save my own sanity.

    AND OMIGRAPES, JON MCLAUGHLIN … !!!! When I first read your post yesterday, I was like, “Hmmm, okay. Moving on.” But he sounded SO familiar, and I just couldn’t let go of his name. So, I googled him, cos I’m tres hardcore with this internet search engine (XDDD) and OMG, he’s the artist who sang “Beautiful Disaster”. I LOVED his version of this song, as opposed to the Kelly Clarkson single of the same name; it was so gorgeous-sounding and melodious and beautiful and his voice was oh-so-amazing when I first heard it on the radio. I swooned. Multiple times.

    Actually, I’m STILL swooning at his voice. Multiple times. (I’msuchaloserXDDD)

    HE IS SO GOOD. SO GOOD.

    And LOL, you are SO going to have trouble fighting off the rabid fangirls once you steal Jaejoong out of their arms. Not to mention, pinkandsparkly might come after you with a pickaxe. XDDDDD

  2. nanshi said,

    I RESENT THAT *thunders*

    I have many many virtues to extoll… ergo: I will extoll zem. Are there two “l’s” or just one? It looks better with two, but I think there’s only one in the real word… hrmmm…

    WATCH “ENCHANTED” It’s just sooo cute. And it’s a ridiculous parody of everything Disney and I love how Disney just makes fun of itself the entire time. If anything, watch it for James Marsden’s character cause he is just TOOOOOOOO FUNNY!!!!! He has this ridiculous scene where he’s talking to a television and all, “Magic Mirror, tell me where my precious Giselle is…!!!!”

    And Jon Mclaughlin IS tres impressive. Speaking of which, you should go hear the song “Apologize” by Timbaland ftd. One Republic cause THAT song is to DIE FOR.

    haha… and I’d like to see them try. People are generally under the impression that I’m this nice and sweet and quiet girl. I’m anything but. I just recently met this guy in the other Japanese class (the class with ALL my friends T__T) and I made one of my typical witty comebacks at him and he was totally taken aback and was all, “WHOA. never expected you to say that!!!!” And I turn to the rest of my friends and were all, “haha! Apparently he’s under the mistaken impression that I’m a NICE person.” Everyone started laughing and they one of my craazzay friends was all, “OMG. YOU HAVE NO IDEA. I WAS MUGGED BY HER!!! She just jumped out of nowhere and held a knife to my neck and said: ‘Give me all your money.’ ” [I didn’t really mug him, but the thought was nice.. haha]

  3. playmeagain said,

    I LOVE James Marsden … ! I’ve seen the X-Men trilogy, and he was superb as Cyclone … ! Plus, I LOVE X-MEN; tis my absolute faaaaaaaaaaave superhero series – far better than Superman and/or Spiderman. XD

    AND … ZOMG, I watched Hairspray, and he sings pretty well! Hairspray = ultimate WIN for me. Hehe. Nikki Blonsky’s absolutely FANTASTIC at singing, even though her voice is a bit too high-pitched for my liking. And Queen Latifah … ! Absolutely superb … !!!! I can’t say enough things about her; she’s got to be one of my absolute FAVOURITE actresses. XD

    LOL! Yay for witty comebacks!!! I’m the least wittiest person I know, which is so unfortunate, because it makes it SO easy for people to make fun of me without getting insulted back.

    “Apologize” is SO good. I LOVE One Republic; the leader singer’s voice is tres impressive and VERY nice-sounding. The only fight I have with the song is that it’s overplayed here, and I can’t STAND it when songs are overplayed, as I lose all my love for it after hearing it countless times. XD Have you heard ‘Stop and Stare” by the same group? Terrific song as well. And since I’ve stopped listening to the radio, *I* don’t hear it often at all, which is REALLY NICE. XD

  4. nanshi said,

    See the thing is though, I actually don’t listen to Western music at all (except for Christian contemporary, and that’s only in snatches of like 10min)… so when people talk about contemporary Western music… I’m just all @_@?? because yeah… I listen to Asian pop mostly… and even then it’s just the songs I enjoy listening to. It’s really bad.

    Like I used to be a cashier at the supermarket and we have one of those funky credit-card pads that you swipe your credit card through. And anyways, there was this guy that was swiping his card, but the magnetic strip was on the wrong side, so I was all, “Oh, it has to be on the left…” and he was all like, “WHY? Because Beyonce said so?!?!?” And he said it in this really really serious (but kinda joking) manner and I got really scared and was all (I really did say this… btw), “Um.. no? Because it won’t go through unless it’s facing the left.”

    haha. i am the original ditz.


Leave a Reply

